November Review (Tech & Leadership)

Summary of what I shared, learned and thought about last month

Isabel Nyo
3 min readDec 1, 2021
Photo by Lukasz Szmigiel on Unsplash

Happy December! Here is a summary of what I shared, learned and thought about last month (November).

You may connect with me on: Twitter | LinkedIn | Facebook | Blog

3 x Best Reads

In startup mode, I was The King Of Optionality. I wanted to try lots of things and keep our options open for changing our mind down the road on everything. I think that was the right mindset back in that phase, but that mindset proved to be wrong in the scale-up phase.

When you have a lot of employees and you don’t make decisions, those options can be very, very expensive. I’ll give you an example. In the early days of HubSpot, we couldn’t decide which target persona to go after. We argued about it for years. By not deciding, our marketing team had to serve multiple personas, our product team had to serve multiple personas, our services team had to create multiple offerings.

Scale-up Leadership Lessons I’ve Learned Over 9 Years as HubSpot’s CEO (published in 2016)

Hybrid work means it’s easier to miss out on the small moments that make teamwork magical and spark innovation. Google News, for example, was the result of a casual conversation between two employees standing next to each other in line for lunch. In an office, these types of interactions happen naturally; in a remote setting, they fall by the wayside and over time this is highly detrimental.

Nudges can offer an opportunity to spark these moments in a hybrid environment. At Humu, we personalize nudges based on a range of signals including individual learning goals, team focus areas, and job level.

5 New Rules for Leading a Hybrid Team

A lot of work has to be done to lay the foundation for Web3. Some of that may be political work, meaning that users, developers, tech companies, special interest groups, and others would have to participate in a variety of standards bodies and hammer out agreements on how the Web3 protocols would work. Only when this work gets going, and when financial incentives align behind it, will Web3 start to get real.

How ‘Web3’ could evolve from a trendy buzzword to a better internet

Something that made me think

This year has come and gone so quickly. 2021 was nothing like I expected and I am sure I am not alone. I was reading 2021 in Review by Will Larson and it made me reflect on my own year too. I will be sure to share my year in review once I’ve written it. Share it with me on social media if you’ve written a reflection on your year too.

Time is not measured by the passing of years but by what one does, what one feels, and what one achieves.

Jawaharlal Nehru

--

--

Isabel Nyo

My course for engineering managers: https://gum.co/emcourse | Tools and Resources for Tech Professionals & Leaders: https://gumroad.com/eisabai